
STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
BEFORE THE

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

Freedom Ring Communications, LLC d/b/a
BayRing Communications — Complaint Docket No. DT 06-067
Against Verizon New Hampshire re: Access
Charges

ONE COMMUNICATIONS’ MEMORANDUM
REGARDING CLAIM PERIOD AND INTEREST

In accordance with the procedures established at the November 5, 2008 technical session,

One Communications respectfully submits this memorandum concerning (1) the period when

One Communications’ claim for reparations begins to run and (2) how the Commission should

award interest under RSA 365:29 on amounts Verizon New Hampshire is required to pay in

reparations.

The applicable period for One Communications’ claims begins to run on April 28, 2004,

the date two years prior to the date when BayRing filed its complaint in this action. That period

applies irrespective of the amendment to RSA 365:29 that became effective in August 2008. The

interest rate that the Commission should require Verizon New Hampshire to pay is the rate of

$0.0005 per day that Verizon established as the “disputed amount penalty” under its own Tariff

No. 85. That rate should apply both to disputed payments that fall within the parameters set by

§ 4.1.8 of the tariff, as well as to other payments
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Discussion

I. One Communications’ Claims Begin to Run on April 28, 2004.

A. Under RSA 365:29, One Communications’ Claim Begins to Run Two Years
Before BayRing Filed its Complaint.

One Communications’ claim begins to run on April 28, 2004, the date two years before

BayRing filed its complaint in this case. This conclusion results from straightforward

application of RSA 365:29. That provision states:

On its own initiative or whenever a petition or complaint has been filed with the
commission covering any rate, fare, charge, or price demanded and collected by
any public utility, and the commission has found, after hearing and investigation,
that an illegal or unjustly discriminatory rate, fare, charge, or price has been
collected for any service, the commission may order the public utility which has
collected the same to make due reparation to the person who has paid the same,
with interest from the date of the payment. Such order for reparation shall cover
only payments made within 2 years before the earlier of the date of the
commission’s notice of hearing or the filing of the petition for reparation.

The statute is explicit: “whenever” a petition or complaint is filed, the Commission may

order reparations going back two years before the filing of the petition. The “date of. . filing of

the petition for reparation” referred to in the last sentence refers back to the only other instance

of the word “petition” in the provision, that in the first line — “whenever a petition or complaint

has been filed.” Further, the provision refers to “the petition” — one petition — not multiple

petitions.

In addition, the Commission is authorized to order the utility that has collected an illegal

rate to make reparation “to the person who has paid” the illegal charge. Thus, any utility

customer that paid an illegal charge may receive reparations of overcharges when the

Commission so orders.

It is not a prerequisite that a particular person file a complaint or petition in order to

obtain reparations. The Legislature did not limit the Commission’s authority to order refunds
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only to the person who filed the complaint. It did not, for example, say that “the Commission

may order the public utility which has collected the same to make due reparation to the person

who filed the complaint.” Instead, the Legislature authorized the Commission to order

reparations to “the person who has paid” the unlawful rate. The only qualification to be eligible

for reparation is that the person has paid a rate the Commission has found to be illegal.

To tie eligibility for reparations and/or an individual claimant’s claim period to the filing

of an individual petition for reparations would defeat the purpose of the statute — to make whole

customers that have paid illegal charges to public utilities. Indeed, refunds have been ordered or

approved under RSA 365:29 without there being any indication that each and every recipient of

reparations had filed a petition. See Appeal of Granite State Electric Co., 120 N.H. 536, 541,

421 A.2d 121, 124 (1980) (petition filed by public interest group); In re EnergyNorth Natural

Gas, Inc. Investigation into Thermal Billing Practices, DG 06-154, Order Approving

Settlement Agreement, Order No. 24,752, at 22 (May 25, 2007) (utility receives release of

liability for claims under RSA 365 :29 on account of refunds made to customers even though no

individual customer filed a petition under RSA 365:29).

Indeed, requiring each and every claimant to file a petition for reparation as a condition

of receiving a refund would serve no purpose other than to discourage reparations of unlawful

overcharges by increasing the transaction costs of seeking such reparations. In particular,

Verizon will suffer no prejudice from having to repay all unlawful overcharges, whether or not a

particular customer files an individual petition. Once BayRing filed its complaint in this docket,

both the Commission and Verizon were on notice that Verizon’s CCL charges might be found

unlawful and that the Commission might require Verizon to make reparations. Requiring other

parties to provide additional notice, by way of a petition for reparations, would not provide any
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additional information that Verizon might need or want in order to defend itself against the

claim.

In particular, the filing of petitions by other parties does not alter Verizon’s ability to

assess the extent of its reparation obligations. Verizon is the party that billed the CCL charges

and collected the overcharges. Once on notice that there was a claim by any customer, Verizon

was uniquely able to determine who paid what, and to estimate what potential reparations might

amount to. Indeed, Verizon was able to do exactly that when it filed its “ballpark estimate” of

potential damages in early 2007.

The result is the same under the pre-August 2008 version of the statute. Prior to its

amendment by Laws of 2008, Ch. 309, RSA 365 :29 said:

Whenever complaint has been made to the commission covering any rate, fare,
charge, or price demanded and collected by any public utility, and the commission
has found, after hearing and investigation, that an illegal or unjustly
discriminatory rate, fare, charge, or price has been collected for any service, the
commission may order the public utility which has collected the same to make
due reparation to the person who has paid the same, with interest from the date of
the payment. Such order for reparation shall cover only payments made within 2
years before the date of filing the petition for reparation.

As under the current version, whenever a complaint has been filed, the Commission may make

an order of reparation covering payments made within two years of the filing of the petition. As

in the current version, the statute does not say that the reparation order may go back only two

years from the date the particular party that is to be reimbursed files its own, individual petition.

B. If the Commission Does Not Agree that One Communications’ Claims Run
from Two Years Prior to BayRing’s Complaint, then the Commission Should
Find that the Claim Runs from Two Years Prior to the Order of Notice.

As shown above, under either the current or prior versions of RSA 365:29, One

Communications’ claims begin to run two years before BayRing filed its complaint in this case

— that is, the claim begins to run on April 28, 2004. Since this result obtains under either the
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current or pre-August 2008 versions of the statute, it is not necessary for the Commission to

decide which version of the statute applies to One Communications’ claims.

If the Commission disagrees, however, and determines that One Communications’ claims

period is not determined by the date BayRing filed its complaint,’ then the Commission should

determine that One Communications’ claims run from June 23, 2004. That is the date two years

before the earlier of the order of notice (June 23, 2006) and the filing of One Communications’

petition for reparations (July 24, 2006). 2

The current version of RSA 365 :29, which contains the “earlier of the order of notice or

the filing of the petition for reparations” language, governs the claim period in this case

regardless of the fact that it was not in effect when this case was commenced. A statute may

apply to cases commenced but not yet decided when it is enacted if the statute is remedial or

procedural in nature. Gelinas v. Mackey, 123 N.H. 690, 695, 465 A.2d 498, 501 (1983). The test

for whether a statute is “remedial” turns on whether its purpose is to afford a private remedy to a

person injured by a wrongful act (as opposed to “penal” statutes, the purpose of which is to

punish an offense against the public). LaBarre v. Daneault, 123 N.H. 267, 270, 461 A.2d 89, 91

(1983). The presumption is that a remedial statute is to be applied retrospectively. Liberty

Mutual Ins. Co. v. Home Ins. Indem. Co., 117 N.H. 269, 270, 371 A.2d 1171, 1173 (1979).

The central question is whether the amendment affects the parties’ rights and obligations,

not whether the outcome is altered or the party is subjected to liability that otherwise would have

As shown above in Part l.A., under either the current or prior versions of RSA 365:29, One Communications’
claims began to run from two years prior to the date BayRing filed its complaint in this action. The arguments in
this Part I.B, therefore, are contingent and apply only if the Commission disagrees with that interpretation set forth
in Part LA.
2 The Commission has deemed petitions for intervention in this docket as petitions for reparations. November 29,

2006 Procedural Order, Order No. 24,705, at 6. No party sought reconsideration of that ruling. All four One
Communications operating entities in New Hampshire (Choice One of New Hampshire Inc.; Conversent
Communications of New Hampshire, LLC; CTC Communications Corp.; and Lightship Telecom, LLC) were
included in One Communications’ July 24, 2006 petition to intervene.
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been barred. Workplace Systems, Inc. v. Cigna Property and Casualty Insurance Co., 143 N.H.

322, 325, 723 A.2d 583, 585 (1999). Here, it is clear that the parties’ underlying rights and

obligations have not been affected. The amendment to RSA 365 :29 does not affect the question

whether Verizon’s CCL charges were lawful or unlawful. The amendment affected (if anything,

see Part l.A above) the time period during which One Communications may recover the

overcharges. By altering the time period during which a claim may be asserted, the amendment

to RSA 365 :29 is akin to a change in the statute of limitations. Changes in statutes of limitations

are remedial and may be applied retrospectively. Workplace Systems, 143 N.H. at 325, 723 A.2d

at 585 (citing, e.g., Norton v. Patten, 125 N.H. 413, 416, 480 A.2d 190, 192 (1984); State v.

Preston, 119 N.H. 877, 880-8 1, 409 A.2d 792, 793-94 (1979)).

Further, application of the amendment to RSA 365 :29 to One Communications’ claims is

not a “retrospective law” prohibited by Part I, Article 23 of the New Hampshire Constitution.

The constitutional prohibition against retrospective laws prevents a change in law from depriving

a person of a vested property right. To be vested, a right must be more than a mere expectation

based on an anticipation of the continuance of existing law. In re Goldman, 151 N.H. 770, 774,

868 A.2d 278, 282 (2005). “A perfect vested right can be no other than such as is not doubtful,

or depending on any contingency, but absolute, fixed and certain.” Lakeman v. Moore, 32 N.H.

410, 413 (1855), quoted in Goldman, 151 N.H. at 774, 868 A.2d at 282.

Verizon has no vested property right in its desire to escape liability for unlawful charges

it imposed during the period June 23 — July 24, 2004. At present, the scope of Verizon’s liability

is not “absolute, fixed, and certain,” and it was not at the time of the statutory amendment. That

is why the Commission and parties are engaged in Phase II of this case to determine what,

exactly, Verizon’s liability is. To the extent that Verizon believed that it would not have to repay
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One Communications the CCL charges it billed during June 23 — July 24, 2004, that belief was

founded only on its expectation that the Legislature would not amend RSA 365:29. That “mere

expectation based on an anticipation of the continuance of existing law” does not give rise to a

vested property right. The Legislature has the power to change, modify and repeal existing law.

Further, even if Verizon’s liability increases over what it expected to pay prior to the statutory

amendment, there is no “implied obligation on the part of the State to protect its citizens against

incidental injury occasioned by change in the law.” Goldman, 151 N.H. at 773, 868 A.2d at 281

(quoting State v. Burr, 142 N.H. 89, 93-94, 696 A.2d 1114 (1997)).

As the amendment to RSA 365:29 is remedial or procedural, it may apply retrospectively.

Because the Legislature was free to amend RSA 365:29, Verizon had no vested right to

anticipate that the claims period would remain unchanged. Therefore, there is no constitutional

prohibition against applying the statutory amendment to One Communications’ claims here.

II. The Commission Should Award Interest at the Rate of $O.0005 Per Day.

A. Verizon’s Tariff No. 85 Establishes This Rate.

The Commission should require Verizon to pay interest at a rate of $0.0005 per day in

accordance with the “disputed amount penalty” provisions under Tariff No. 85, § 4.1.8.~ In

general, the “disputed amount penalty” applies when a customer disputes a charge imposed

under Tariff No. 85, pays the charge, and prevails in the dispute.

Section 4.1.8 sets forth a number of scenarios establishing the amount of the disputed

amount penalty, which depend on the timing of the payment and of the dispute. For example, if

the customer disputes the charge within three months of the payment due date and pays the

charge by the due date, and prevails, then the disputed amount penalty runs from the date of

For the Commission’s convenience, section 4.1.8 is attached to this memorandum.
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payment to the date the issue is resolved. § 4.1.8.E. If the customer disputes the charge after

three months after the payment due date and pays the charge by the dispute date, then Verizon

must pay the disputed penalty amount from the date of dispute to the date of resolution. §

4.1.8.H.4

B. The Commission Should Require That Verizon Pay Interest at a Rate of
$O.0005 Per Day on Charges That Fall Outside the Terms of the Tariff.

Even if certain of the reparations that Verizon will be required to make do not strictly fall

within the “disputed payment amount” provisions of the tariff, the Commission may still use that

rate to calculate interest payable on account of Verizon’s unlawful CCL overcharges.

RSA 365:29 authorizes the Commission to require a utility to make reparation to a

customer that has paid unlawful charges “with interest from the date of payment.”5 Thus, for any

reparations for which the “disputed amount penalty” in Tariff No. 85 does not apply from the

date of payment, the Commission should nonetheless order Verizon to pay interest from the date

of payment.6

The statute does not specify the rate of interest that the Commission should apply. The

Commission should apply Verizon’s rate of $O.0005 in these instances as well. Verizon has

determined that $O.0005 per day is an appropriate rate to compensate those who overpaid under

Tariff No. 85. In order to effectuate the remedial objectives of RSA 365:29, the Commission

may look to that rate as an appropriate rate for reparations, including those that do not strictly fall

within the provisions of § 4.1.8.

~ Section 4.1.8.H might apply, for instance, to payments made in the 2004-05 time frame, before the problem was

understood and parties began to dispute the charges.

This provision is identical under the current and pre-August 2008 version of the statute.
6 One example where the Commission should order such interest is for the CCL charges paid in the 2004-05 time

frame, before parties became aware that Verizon was unlawfully overcharging. Parties may not have disputed those
charges within three months of the bill date. Thus, by strict application of § 4.1.8.H, the disputed payment amount
applies only from the date of dispute. To fill the gap between the date of payment and the date of dispute, the
Commission should require payment of interest under RSA 365 :29.
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As an alternative, if the Commission does not agree that the rate in Tariff No. 85 should

apply by analogy where it does not strictly apply by the tariffs terms, then the Commission

should award interest at Verizon’s rate of return for wholesale services.7 This is the rate at which

Verizon obtains its capital elsewhere. The Commission’s authority to order reparations is

founded on the principle of unjust enrichment. Granite State Elec. Co., 120 N.H. at 539-40, 421

A.2d at 123. To the extent that Verizon has obtained capital by unlawfully overcharging One

Communications and other, similarly-situated customers, it has been unjustly enriched, because

it has not had to pay its cost of capital to other investors. The Commission should require

Verizon to return this unjust enrichment by paying the overcharges customers the same rate of

return on the money it has held since obtaining the unlawful overcharges.

C. Verizon Must Credit Any Late Payment Charges, Interest, or Similar
Charge Assessed Against One Communications for Disputed, Unpaid CCL
Charges.

With respect to any bills for CCL charges that One Communications disputed and

withheld, the Commission should ensure that any late payment charges, interest, or any other

charge or fee that Verizon has imposed on account of One Communications’ non-payment of any

unlawful CCL charge be eliminated. Verizon must credit any such charge, whether imposed

pursuant to Tariff No. 85, § 4.1.2 or otherwise. Thus, in addition to issuing a credit to One

Communications for any CCL charges that Verizon carries on its books, Verizon must also issue

full credits for any late payment charges or interest.

One Communications understands that that rate is set forth in a letter between Verizon and the Commission Staff
dated March 4, 1998, and is approximately 10.46%. As the Commission is aware, however, in the cost of capital
proceeding in 2002-03, Verizon advocated a cost of capital for wholesale services of 17.93%. In re Verizon New
Hampshire — Investigation into Cost of Capital, DT 02-110, Order Establishing Cost of Capital, Order No. 24,265,
at 5-6 (Jan. 16, 2004). That rate is roughly equivalent to the Tariff No. 85 “disputed amount penalty” on an
annualized basis, and provides further support that Verizon’s “disputed amount penalty” rate is the appropriate rate
to apply to all overpayments at issue here, whether or not strictly within the terms of the tariff.
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Conclusion

The Commission should determine that One Communications’ claims begin to run on

April 28, 2004, two years before the date BayRing filed its complaint in this action. The

Commission should award interest at the rate of $0.0005 per day on all amounts improperly

charged by and paid to Verizon, from the date that the customer paid through the date that

Verizon fully refunds the overcharges.

December 18, 2008 Respectfully Submitted,

L,Jfr~ 144
Of Counsel: T ~{

Gregory M. Kennan
Paula W. Foley Fagelbaum & Heller LLP
One Communications Corp. P0 Box 230
5 Wall Street Sherborn, MA 01770
Burlington, MA 01803 508-259-0786
781-362-5713 Tel. gmk~thllplaw.com
781-362-1313 Fax

fole onecomrnunications.corn



Access Service
Section 4
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Original

J. Michael Hickey
President-NH

NHPUC No. 85

Verizon New England Inc.

4. Issuance, Payment and Crediting of Customer Bills
4.1 Undertaking of the Telephone Company

B. (Continued’)

3.

4.1.7 Nonrecurring Charges

The reestablishment of service begins within sixty days after Telephone Company service is
available. The sixty day period may be extended a reasonable period if the renovation of the
oriainal location on the oremises affected is not practical within the allotted time period.

4.1.8 Billing Dispute
A. In the event that a billing dispute occurs concerning any charges billed to the customer by the

Telephone Company the regulations contained in Section 4.1.8 will apply.
B. The first day of the dispute shall be the date on which the customer furnishes the Telephone

Company with the account number under which the bill has been rendered, the date of the bill and
the specific items on the bill being disputed.

C. The date of resolution shall be the date on which the Telephone Company completes its
investigation of the dispute, notifies the customer of the disposition and, if the billing dispute is
resolved in favor of the customer, applies credit for the correct disputed amount, the disputed
amount penalty and/or late payment penalty as appropriate.

0. If a billing dispute is resolved in favor of the Telephone Company, any payments withheld pending
resolution of the dispute shall be subject to the late payment penalty. Further, the customer will not
receive credit for the disputed amount or the disputed amount penalty.

E. If a customer disputes a bill within three months of the payment date and pays the total billed
amount on or before the payment date and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer,
the customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company for
the period starting with the date of payment and ending on the date of resolution. The credit for the
disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following.

F. If a customer disputes a bill within three months of the payment date and pays the total billed
amount after the payment date and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer, the
customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company for the
period starting with the date of payment and ending on the date of resolution. The credit for the
disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following. The late payment penalty (refer to Section
4.1.2) applied to the disputed amount resolved in the customer’s favor will be credited.

Issued: March 07, 2001
Effective: March 07, 2001
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Verizon New England Inc.

Access Service
Section 4

Page 5
Original

4. Issuance, Payment and Crediting of Customer Bills
4.1 Undertaking of the Telephone Company

4.1.8 Billing Dispute
G. If a customer disputes a bill within three months of the payment date and does not pay the

disputed amount or does not pay the billed amount (i.e., the nondisputed and disputed amount),
and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer, the customer will not receive a credit for
a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company. The late payment penalty (refer to
Section 4.1 .2A and 4.1 .2B) applied to the disputed amount resolved in the customer’s favor will be
credited.

H. If a customer disputes a bill after three months from the payment date and pays the total billed
amount on or before the dispute date, and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer,
the customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company for
the period starting with the date of dispute and ending on the date of the resolution. The credit for a
disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following. The customer shall not receive a credit for
the late payment penalty.

I. If a customer disputes a bill after three months from the payment date and does not pay the
disputed amount or does not pay the billed amount (i.e., the nondisputed amount and disputed
amount) and the billing dispute is resolved in favor of the customer, the customer will not receive a
credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone Company. However, if the customer pays
the disputed amount or the billed amount after the date of dispute and before the date of
resolution, the customer will receive a credit for a disputed amount penalty from the Telephone
Company for the period starting with the date of payment and ending on the date of resolution.
The credit for the disputed amount penalty shall be as set forth following. The customer will receive
a credit for the late payment penalty, if applicable, from the Telephone Company.

1. The late payment penalty credit shall be the disputed amount resolved in the customer’s favor
times a late payment penalty factor (refer to Section 4.1.2), for the period starting with the date of
dispute and ending on the date of payment of the disputed amount or the date of resolution
whichever occurs first.

2. The disputed amount penalty shall be the disputed amount resolved in the customer’s favor times
a penalty factor. The penalty factor shall be 0.0005 per day for the number of days from the first
date to and including the last date of the period involved.

4.1.9 Billing Adjustments and Verification
A. Adjustments for the quantities of services established or discontinued in any billing period beyond

the minimum period set forth for services in other sections of this tariff will be prorated to the
number of days or major fraction of days based on a thirty day month. The Telephone Company
will, upon request and if available, furnish such detailed information as may reasonably be required
for verification of any bill.

J. Michael Hickey
President-NH

Issued: March 07, 2001
Effective: March 07, 2001




